Spanish Style Home Fries {Recipe}

Do I have a yummy recipe for you!  Spanish style Home Fries.

My mother-in-law actually put me on to these YUMMY home fries.  She made them for me a few years back & I’ve added them to my breakfast repertoire.  They are easy peasy & are great for when you have a multitude of mouths to feed, like I did this past weekend.

Ingredients needed:  Serves 8

  • Goya Sazón
  • Goya Adobo
  • Garlic Powder
  • Olive Oil
  • 8 potatoes
  • ½ onion
  • ½ green pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • Butter (optional)

I peeled half of the potatoes & left the majority of the peel on the other half.  I find that this gives the home fries additional texture.  I nuked them for 7 minutes in a microwave safe bowl.

While the potatoes were softening in the microwave, I chopped up the green pepper, onion and garlic cloves.  I usually throw in red and yellow pepper as well.  But because I am me, I forgot to grab them at the market.

Next I combined both the potatoes and veggies on a hot skillet, which was prepped with a bit of olive oil.  I used my spatula to break up the potatoes into smaller pieces & mix the ingredients around.  Now, here comes the yummy goodness.  I added 2 packets of Sazón and was generous with both the Adobo & garlic powder.  On a side note, I’ve noticed that whenever I’m making a Spanish dish, I never measure my ingredients.  Everything is done according to taste.  I hope that this doesn’t throw you off.

I stirred the papas around until they seemed equally sprinkled with the seasonings, then covered them to allow to soften and cook further.  Before covering them, I added just about a tablespoon of butter under each top.  Yes, I know!  So unhealthy.  But I tell you they are sooooooooo yummy.  And we’re all entitled to be gluttonous every once in awhile.

And there you have it, a good 15 minutes later the home fries were done and ready to be served.  All while, I was making these heavenly potatoes, I was baking eggs.  You heard me right, baking eggs, along with bacon and toast.  Check out this tasty recipe from Martha Stewart.   My guests loved the egg cups, but fell head over heels for my home fries.  Go ME!!

Well my friends, I hope you give my little recipe a try.  Buen Provecho!

Linking up to: The Gunny Sack

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

