Manic Monday

Whew!  The day is practically over and I’m totally thankful for that.  It really was a Manic Monday.  Getting back into the office after four days away, was almost as painful as getting my wisdom teeth extracted.  The day seemed to drag on and yet, I felt like I didn’t make a dent in clearing my desk.  Good thing for tomorrow and a little planning on my part.

So we all know, how much information is out on the world wide web, and how many things we can learn from a quick Google search.  Throw in some really useful and FABULOUS blogs, and well you’re armed with a sea of information.  Some time back, I had stumbled upon a great blog Make 5 Dinners in ONE hour, book marked it and figured I’d get a real good look at when I had a free moment.  I shoulda realized the flaw in my plan.  I mean seriously, when do I have a free moment?  You know the life of a Cape-Wearing-Mami.  Anyhoo, fast forward to my first link party at The Gunny Sack, which led me to another blog that I’ve become to enjoy, Living, Laughing and Loving.  Well Renee at LLL reintroduced M5D to me.  She has this great feature on Mondays all about her week’s menu & she swears by making her dinners in an hour and many times in much less time.  Renee really piqued my interest and I finally made the time to see what M5D was all about.  WOW! WOW! WOW! I can totally see why she loves the idea.

Armed with this new knowledge and knowing what my next two weeks look like, I committed to make some yummy din dins ahead of time.  Like Renee, I broke down what could be a daunting task.  On Friday I scoured the net for different recipes and used this handy menu planner from Mommy Tracked to organize myself.  And hit the market with my coupons to grab those ingredients I didn’t have at home.

Back to that Manic Monday I mentioned.  In true form, I waited till this morning to prep my week’s worth of dinners.  I mean who couldn’t benefit from a bit of early morning stress.  Aye!  Just when I thought I had a good plan, I go and do something so typical.  I really just have to laugh at myself.

Well, I did get up early enough to get it all done.  I rounded up my ingredients and tools.

And here’s what my very FIRST weekly menu looks like this…

Monday:   Chicken a la King over Mashed Potatoes

Tuesday:   Make ahead Unstuffed Shells

Wednesday:   French Bread Pizza

Thursday:    Slow cooker Pulled Pork

Friday:  Left-overs or Take-out

Saturday:  Cheeseburger Sliders (my recipe)

Sunday:  Arroz con Pollo – translation: Rice with Chicken (my MIL’s recipe – I’ll have to share it soon)

It took me a little over an hour to prep everything, but in my defense, there was this cutie pie that wanted to hang with mommy bright and early.  I can’t help to give in to those chubby cheeks.  When it was all said and done, my dinners were all prepped, including one straight in the slow cooker.

Some more practice and I think I may be onto something.  Ok, maybe more like jumping on the band wagon.  Have you tried prepping any of your meals in advance?  How has that worked out for you?

 

 

 

Linking to Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday

6 thoughts on “Manic Monday

  1. Woohoo!!! So glad you decided to give it a try!!!! That’s awesome!! I can’t imagine doing it Monday morning though!! 🙂 And you had to go to work after???? Wow, you do wear a cape!!!
    Did you sign up for the M5D menus or sample or anything? Her menus are nice since they have everything laid out soooo well for you.

    Thanks so much for the shout out!!! You’re the best!!

  2. Pingback: Monday Munchies «

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

