IKEA Kiddie Table Hack

At a recent trip to IKEA, we picked up this super cute & super cheap table for Gordita.  For $20, I knew this little table had some great potential.  It would be the perfect match to her in progress DIY kitchen (post to come).

Image via IKEA

It’s blank slate prompted me to pick up some paint and stencils, to jazz it up.  I opted for a pretty lilac / purple color for the base, being that it’s my favorite color and it seems that Ravyn likes it too.  I also decided to mess around with some chalk spray paint.  One of those products that I’ve been itching to use.  And being that Gordita has an affinity with crayons, more specifically putting those crayons on places other than paper.  Yes, I have a little Picasso on my hands.  The door leading to the garage can attest.  I’m hoping the chalkboard will appease my budding artist.

After adding two coats of paint and letting it dry, I stenciled butterflies (another favorite of mine) on the chairs.  And created my own paper stencil for the letter R and added it to the center of the table.  I first thought to really add a ton of embellishments to the table, but after adding the butterflies there was something simple and sweet about how the table looked, that I left it as is.

Here are the kiddos enjoying Gordita’s new & improved table.  Seems that she even recognized and appreciated the R on the table.

So, what have you spified up using a little paint and creativity?

Linking to the following parties:  The Gunny SackFunky Polkadot GiraffeEisyMorganSo Very CreativeToday’s Creative Blog, A Creative Princess, Too much time on my hands

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

