Festive Holiday Lantern {Try that Tuesday}

Since becoming a Pinterest junkie, I’ve rediscovered my love for crafting and have tried my hand at some sweet projects, like this Fall wreath and a burlap banner for my son’s school and some other’s I haven’t blogged about.  To feed this addiction of mine, I’m starting a weekly installment called Try that Tuesday. Where I’ll be picking one of the many pins off of my many boards and YUP, you guessed it trying it.  You’re probably thinking, so-and-so over at so-and-so blog does something similar, and you’re 100% right.  It’s ok though, cause Try that Tuesday is part keeping me creative, part keeping me blogging and part adding a personal touch to my home.  Oh and part helping me keeping my sanity.  Super important these days.

So let’s get to it!  For my first week, I wanted to recreate this totally cute red lantern filled with ornaments shared by Alison at Welcome Sunshine Home.  Isn’t it adorable?  I love the festive colors and the simplicity of it!

Drum-roll please….

And here’s my version, which is presently the centerpiece of our dining room table.

So what do you guys think?  Not too shabby, huh?  I definitely don’t think so.  Especially for the price and the amount of time it took me to put it all together {10 minutes}.  I already had the platter, along with the large lantern, red candle, red wire garland and some of the ornaments.  The smaller lantern was waiting for me at my local Salvation Army for $3.  Score!  I picked up some additional ornaments at Dollar Tree and Epsom salt at Walmart, which I used for the illusion of snow.  Total cost was a little over $6.  Again not too shabby!

There you have it!  And I will say it for the umpteenth time, I ADORE Pinterest!!  What have you recently recreating from all the inspiration found on Pinterest?

Linking up to:  Creative Princess, Homemaker on a Dime, So Creative

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

