DIY Play Kitchen {Try that Tuesday}

I love how inspiration can come at the moment you least expect it. And how it sticks with you, until you’re ready to act upon it.

About a year and half ago, I was surfing the net aimlessly. Just trying to pass time, when I stumbled upon this absolutely adorable play kitchen. I book marked the site and thought, maybe, just maybe one day I can make something like that for my Gordita. At the time I thought it was a novel thought, I mean really was I going to be able to pull something off like that?  See I hadn’t tapped into my inner DIY Diva yet.

Isn’t this kitchen adorable??

{Via}

Fast forward the clock to September ’11 and the receipt of an invite to the awesome Pinterest. And there I was spending an endless amount of time just pinning away. Wouldn’t you know it I stumbled upon that sweet little play kitchen that caught my eye. It was kismet, that I would come across it again. I mean, isn’t the web vast and endless and what are the chances. Ok, maybe I’m pushing it but whatevs! I thought to myself, I have to find a way to make my Gordita her own play kitchen.

I told the hubby the plan and of course he thought I was nuts. He said let’s just go buy one & that’ll be that. I tried to explain to him, it just wouldn’t be the same. I want her to remember that we made her something just for her, totally one of kind. He nodded his head. I’m sure just to appease me. Hoping and praying that I would forget or just give in and go buy her a play kitchen. HA!! If anyone that knows me, knows I don’t give up/in that easily.

The hunt for the perfect piece of furniture began and I scored this night stand for $10 off of Craigslist.

Then came the real work and I called my little brother, Alex. That sounds horrible. I know. But in all reality, he’s awesome when it comes to building things, plus he has all the tools. And being that he’s a spectacular uncle and wonderful little brother, he obliged and helped make Gordita’s play kitchen become a reality.

Alex and the hubs, reinforced the structure, added a back splash, opened up a hole for the sink. I found wooden “plates”, along with cute little knobs from AC Moore, to give the effect of stove burners and stove knobs. I had also scored a wooden shelf for $2 at a flea market, and found a frame in my stash of craft supplies.

Here we are closer to the final product. At this point the hubs was about to murder me, and I began wondering if he was right, maybe we should have just bought the Ikea play kitchen we had seen and liked. UGH!! Talk about frustration and sleep deprivation.

After it was all said and done; and the hubs had relaxed by having a drink or two (alright more like four), he was pleased with his hard-work. I was elated with my vision and details. And we were excited to present Gordita with her special Christmas present.

Between my brother’s handiwork and that of the hubby, along with some unexpected finds, like the cute microwave; the arguing and late nights were totally worth it. Especially, when she unwrapped the kitchen on Christmas morning and began playing.

Here’s Gordita getting ready to cook with the food her aunt and uncle picked up from Ikea. Thanks guys.

Granted I was the one that was originally inspired. I had 2 super awesome guys (shameless plug) who let me suck them in and make Ravyn’s Christmas all that more special. Thank you guys…love you both.  And there you have it, how my inspiration came to fruition.

Oh and I just have to share the other delightful play kitchens I came across, here, here, here, and here, and here and here. I love the creativity and originality of them all. Just. So. Cute.

Linking up to: Today’s Creative Blog

7 thoughts on “DIY Play Kitchen {Try that Tuesday}

  1. My almost 2 year old son would love this! I’m collecting inspiration and will be pinning this. I’m kicking myself because I let a piece of furniture almost identical to the first picture get thrown away by a neighbor with out grabbing it!

  2. It turned out absolutely adorable! I would never know it came from a nightstand! Thanks so much for sharing at Homemaker in Heels! I just featured this on my FB page! 🙂

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

