Mother’s Day Gift {Try that Tuesday}

Mother’s Day is always a little bittersweet for me.  With my parents living in Florida, I think my Mami & I have celebrated together once in the six years, that I’ve been a mom. Unfortunately, this is another year that we won’t be spending Mother’s Day together.

Our relationship is far from perfect, in fact we don’t see eye to eye on many things. But I still love her, cause she’s my Mami.  We fight because we’re a lot alike. We fight because I’m new school & she still carries some old fashioned/off the boat ideas. We fight because she made sure to instill in me values & ideas that would make me a strong woman; so we fight. We fight because we’re mother and daughter. But no matter I still love her and miss her wholeheartedly. I miss her for me and for my children, because they don’t get to see her as often as I would like. I love her immensely because she has sacrificed a whole deal for me & has only always wanted the best for me. And now the best for my children, my husband & my family. My mami has shown me to find the beauty in everything, to look for the good in all people, to be kind & loving. I am beyond grateful to her for so many things. And love her for so many reasons.

Mami & I

In my mother’s physical absence, I have been blessed with an AMaH-Zing Mother-in-Law. I hear so many horrendous stories of mother-in-laws and daughter-in-laws hating each other and just being horrible to each other. And I count my blessings. My relationship with Lydia Mom is a great. We go shopping together, we hang out, not because we have to, but because we enjoy each other’s company. We laugh together & at each other. A lot! She shares her recipes with me. That lady can throw down in the kitchen. We argue too. Like mother and daughter. But all in all, we have a beautiful relationship. I am grateful to her for raising a great guy, my husband, Robert. I am grateful to her for loving my children with all of her heart. I am grateful to her in being my go-to babysitter. And for so many other things.

Mom & I

With the help of Pinterest and Mandy over at It Will Change Your Life, the Pollitos and I created sweet gifts for both of these spectacular ladies. Here’s our inspiration. What mom or grandma doesn’t love photos of their lineage?! Plus what woman doesn’t love flowers?! So here you have the best of both worlds.

{Source}

Supplies needed:

  • Mod Podge
  • Acrylic Paint (colors of your choice)
  • Small containers found at Dollar Tree
  • Skewers
  • Reindeer Moss
  • Wood chip Flowers
  • Glittered Butterfly and Flower sticks
  • Photos of your choice

Both the Lil’ Giant and Gordita had a chance to paint the flower wood chips. Notice Gordita’s hand. This slick little toddler decided to scare her daddy & I by cutting herself. Her “red boo-boo” as she called it, nearly gave me a heart attack. Sigh!

While the flowers were drying, I went ahead & cut the photos, using my handy circle cutter. Once dried, I mod podged one photo in the center of each flower.

I had to wait for the mod podge to dry, so in the interim I used a green marker on the skewers to make them resemble flower stems & then hot glued the wood chip flowers to the skewers. Sorry no photos there.

I then went ahead & stuffed the flower pots with brown grass filler and taped the top of the pot, like so.  The idea was keep the skewers stable and in their place.

After taping, I began adding the flowers, along with the glittered butterflies and glittered flowers at staggered heights and depths into the pot. Once I got the desired look, I added the reindeer moss. And….

Here’s the final product. A cute-sy flower pot with personalized photos of the Pollitos for their Abuela (my mom) and Mom (my MIL).

And here’s the one to my mom before I shipped it out. I’m sure she’ll be pleasantly surprised to receive this in the mail. I can just hear her now… “Aye, Mami I lobe (insert Colombian accent here) my geeft. My babies are beauteeful. You make me the happiest granma in this world.” Mark my words folks, she will say some version of just that.

Did you go the personalized route this year, and make your mom, grandma or MIL a special gift? If so, please share.  To all my mom readers, I do hope you get pampered this Sunday and enjoy your special day.

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

