Parent Fail

Let me forewarn you my friends, this post may rub some the wrong way and possibly offend a few. Be that as it may, I won’t be apologizing. See, this is my little space in blogland, where I can share my thoughts, ideas and opinions. So if you’re easily offended when it comes to parenting issues, come back tomorrow for a lighter topic.

I feel the need to put some parents on blast.  As you all know, I have two little ones, the Pollitos and another on the way. So I believe that I have some type of street cred, when it comes to parenting. On top of that, I happen to have some serious issues with the way “parenting” is heading.  But I digress. The parent fail, that has me up in arms is DIRTY and UNRULY KIDS!

Before I go any further, let me say this:  In no way, shape or form do I think my children are perfect. Cause they are not. They do wrong. Hell, I am the mama of head strong toddler, who has been known to throw a tantrum or two way too many to count. And a six year old that is the epitome of a sore loser. These are things we are working on. However, dirty and unruly they will NEVER be! At least if I have it my way.

I’m from the school of thought that your children are a reflection of you. And let me say this, we ALL judge a book by its cover, it’s just in our nature. So, if you think otherwise WAKE-UP!

With that said, think of this:  Every time you let your child/ren out of the house lookin’ a hot mess, i.e. stained or ripped clothes; food and/or bodily fluids on their face; dirty finger nails; matted hair, etc., your parenting skills are being judged. Now I realize kids are going to get dirty. Not a day goes by that the Lil’ Giant doesn’t come home with remnants of his lunch on his clothes. What I’m referring to here is grime and filth. What you expect to see in a third-world nation without running water. That’s the kind of dirty, I’m talking about.

Folks, soap and water work wonders. So, what’s the issue parents? Is it laziness on your part? Are you too busy? Is your child defiant and doesn’t want to clean themselves? Are you afraid to assert yourself as a parent & lay down the clean law in your home? I really just don’t get it! Don’t even get me started on those parents that are dressed to the nines & their children are looking disastrous. Unbelievable! And yet, I’ve seen it too many times to count, especially here in my area. I can’t even tell you the amount of times, I’ve wanted to scrub a kid.

Back to book judging. I’m gonna say it… Appearances are all too IMPORTANT. What you show the world, is how the world is going to treat you or for that matter your children. Pity is what I’m guessing your wee ones will come across & you contempt as the parent.  NEVER, NEVER, NEVER would you catch my Pollitos walking out the house in such a state.  That’s just absolutely unacceptable in my book.

The other part of this equation is unruliness. Children will be children, they will be loud and rambunctious. But openly disrespectful to their parents or other adults, is something altogether different.   Something, that I have very little tolerance for.  Let a six year old walk all over you now & see what happens when he or she is 16. I tell you this, NOT in my house!

Children are the best copy cats around. We have to remember that we are their first teachers. So whether the lesson we’re teaching them is to be loving or that it’s acceptable to be insolent, they are going mimic it almost perfectly.  And once, they realize that they can do as they choose, best believe they’ll be taking advantage and you’ll be up a creek without a paddle.  WAKE-UP!

Parents our children NEED US. They need us to be parents, not their Yes Ma’am person. They need us to be firm and yet loving with them. Our children are growing up in a society, where self-gratification is totally acceptable. These children expect to be handed everything with little to no effort.  Again, I’m from the school of thought, that you work for yours. This sense of entitlement equates into an ungrateful, disrespectful attitude that is damaging to our families, damaging to our society and the future of our kids.

C’mon, Parents get with the program. Wash your babies up. Get them to respect you. Life will be much easier for them. Plus, I won’t want to A) scrub them down with washcloth and B) discipline them.

2 thoughts on “Parent Fail

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

