Surviving the First Few Weeks of Motherhood

This mama has been one bad, bad blogger.  Not on purpose. Really. I promise.

We’ve been home for 2 weeks with Rhys and I’ve been trying to get the hang of things.  Add in school starting, a visiting mom, plus a weekend visit from the Bestie and her son.  And well, like I said, I’m trying to get the hang of things.  I knew that going from 2 Pollitos to 3 would be interesting, but I forgot how tired you are after such much interrupted sleep.

I’m sure that in a week or two, I’ll kinda, sorta have a hang of this new life of being the mama to three Pollitos. Please bare with me & my scattered-brain self.

So I guess at this point you can call me a seasoned mother. Although, the sound of that makes me sound old. And old I am not. At least I refuse to think of myself as aged. But I digress.  Being that Rhys is my third baby, I have learned along the way, that there are certain products that are a MUST in order to survive the first few weeks of motherhood.  I’d like to share them with you.

“New” Mom Must Have’s…

I’d love to kiss the inventor of the Boppy Pillow, because really it may be the best thing since sliced bread, when it comes to nursing or feeding your baby.  I especially love the interchangeable covers, allowing you change the look and most importantly clean the pillow.

A good receiving blanket surely comes in handy, for baby swaddling or as a pseudo burp cloth.

I swear by the amazing-ness of baby swings.  Both the Lil Giant & Gordita would spend hours sleeping in theirs.  There were many times, that I had to wake them to eat.  For Rhys we opted for a smaller portable version, in hopes of saving a bit of space; and so far so good.

The Medela Symphony Breast Pump is the key to my freedom a total lifesaver.  No seriously, it’s both. In the two weeks, we’ve been home I’ve been able to pump enough to start a stockpile of breast milk, which has allowed me to run out & take care of a couple errands, while leaving Baby Boy home with either The Hubs or my mom.  Two thumbs up to this hospital grade breast pump.

Ok, I’m going to sound a bit vain, but hey!  After 9 months of pregnancy and having a HUGE belly, there is nothing less that I want to look like than a pregnant lady.  So a belly band is an absolute MUST.  I bit the bullet this time around and invested in the Bamboo Belly Bandit.  It’s keeping my “extra around the middle” contained & me looking slimmer, at least until I get the go ahead to get back working out.

I absolutely adore the Halo SleepSacks.  They give me piece of mind.  I know that I can zip my baby in one, allowing him to keep warm, without worrying that he may accidentally suffocate on a loose blanket.  I’m utterly petrified of SIDS & whatever I can do to lessen the likelihood of being affected by SIDS, I will do it.

My typical post baby uniform is a nursing tank & yoga pants or jeans. Nursing tanks are versatile, easy to wear & super comfortable.  Enough said.

I love me a a sweet diaper bag. I’ve had a number of bags, this time around I opted for this cutesy JJ Cole Mod Tote Bag. It has a ton of pockets, inside and out, allowing me to put my stuff in there too.  It has these great stroller straps, which I’m loving because it lays nicely on the stroller.  The bag also wipes clean super easy.

This one may seem a bit out of place, but seriously my iPhone has come in handy many times over.  I’ve taken a ton of photos of Rhys and I mean a ton, surfed the internet, touched base with family & friends, played a few games in the wee hours in an attempt to stay awake while nursing, Facebooked, Tweeted & Instagramed.

There you have my ultimate Must Have’s.

Some other lifesavers have been, and bare with my TMI-ness:

  • Nursing bra;
  • Overnight sanitary pads with wings;
  • Granny underoos (which I toss, following my 6 week check-up and splurge on some swanky unmentionables);
  • Tucks medicated pads (natural childbirth isn’t always nice on the nether region, leaving you either stitched from a tear or episiotomy &/or hemmorhoids. Told you I was gonna get all TMI.  Anyhoo, the witch hazel in the pads are a relief to that sensitive area, plus they lay nicely on your winged pads);
  • Lanolin for tender nipples
  • Ice water with lemon

What are some of your favorite products, that helped you get through the first few weeks of motherhood?

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

