Batido de Trigo {Recipe}

During our time in Philly we dined at a Colombian restaurant, called Tierra Colombiana (translation: Colombian Land).  After being away from home and my kitchen for such an extended period of time, it was nice to have an authentic Spanish meal and Colombian at that.  I enjoyed a Bandeja Típica, along with a Batido de Trigo. Two favorites from childhood.

Here’s what my bandeja típica looked like.

A Batido de Trigo is a Puffed Wheat Milkshake.  I remember as a young girl, going to this one restaurant in The Heights with my mom and she ordering me a batido de trigo.  Funny thing is that I’ve never seen it served anywhere else, until our meal at Tierra Colombiana.

Being that one: we don’t live close to Philly and two: I spend enough time in the kitchen; I figured I’d try my hand at recreating the shake myself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of unsweetened puff wheat
  • 1 cup of milk, lowfat
  • 3/4 cup of ice
  • 1 ½ tablespoon of sugar in the raw (or to your taste)
  • ½ teaspoon of pure vanilla

These measurements are for one serving.  Also, you can substitute the unsweetened puff wheat for sweetened ones, like Honey Smacks and use regular sugar, in place of the sugar in the raw.  I’m watching my intake, so I’ve decided on a more healthful shake.

Prep:

  • Measure out your ingredients.
  • Dump them into a blender.
  • Puree.
  • Pour and Enjoy!

It couldn’t get easier than that.

Buen Provecho!

After making and enjoying this scrumptious shake, my silliness dawned on me.  Like, really why hadn’t I thought of making it before?  I’m so glad that I did, because it’s become my quick go-to breakfast shake.

Linking up to some of my favorite parties:
The Gunny SackThe Girl CreativeFunky Polkadot GiraffeReasons to Skip the HouseworkToday’s Creative BlogTip JunkieOrganize & Decorate Everything, Someday CraftsMy Girlish WhimsSomewhat SimpleI Heart Nap TimeThe Shabby Creek CottageSeven Thirty ThreeDelightful OrderGluesticksHomemaker in HeelsFingerprints on the FridgeFive Days 5 WaysBacon Time with the Hungry Hungry HippoCraft EnvyToo Much Time on My HandsBe Different Act NormalUnder the Table and DreamingA Creative PrincessThe Peaceful Mom

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

