Guac-A-Nana {Baby Food Recipe}

How do you make Lil’ Red’s belly a happy one?  Serve him Guac-A-Nana!

happy monster baby

What’s Guac-A-Nana?  Just the easiest and definitely one of the tastiest homemade baby food recipes out there.  More specifically, it’s the combination of avocado and banana.

I’m a big proponent for making babies first foods.  My type A tendencies kick in here.  I like to know exactly what my baby is putting into his system.  I want to guarantee that he’s getting all the proper nutrients, without any those nasty chemicals.  Plus, I want to develop his palate, so that he’s an adventurous eater.  Besides I find that it’s pretty easy to do, since I make his food in big batches, that last throughout the month.

Back to avocados and bananas which in fact seem to constantly disappear in my household.  It’s like I buy them one day & they’re gone the next.  It’s hard not to see why.  They’re just so darn savory & good for you too. Bananas are full of potassium.  While avocados are a super food, they’re a great source of monounsaturated fat which help increase your fat metabolism.

guacanana

Ingredients

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 avocado

Prep

  1. Mash with a fork or food processor the avocado & banana until smooth, or leave it lumpier for older babies.
  2. Serve immediately.

Buen Provecho Bebé!

Note that you can certainly double this recipe and either refrigerate or freeze the remainders.  However, because both avocados and bananas tend to brown, the “leftovers” will have a top layer of browning.  To avoid this you can squeeze in a bit of lime juice, but this may change the taste.  I pass on the lime when freezing.  When reheating the Guac-A-Nana I make sure to mix it really well and serve.  Lil’ Red enjoys it just the same.  Then again he is a gordito.

guac baby

Abrazos, Sapphire

Linking up to some of my favorite parties:
The Gunny SackThe Girl CreativeFunky Polkadot GiraffeReasons to Skip the HouseworkToday’s Creative BlogTip JunkieOrganize & Decorate Everything, Someday CraftsMy Girlish WhimsSomewhat SimpleI Heart Nap TimeThe Shabby Creek CottageSeven Thirty ThreeDelightful OrderGluesticksHomemaker in HeelsFingerprints on the FridgeFive Days 5 WaysBacon Time with the Hungry Hungry HippoCraft EnvyToo Much Time on My HandsBe Different Act NormalUnder the Table and DreamingA Creative PrincessThe Peaceful Mom
Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!

