Valentine Wreath {Try that Tuesday}

If you’ve been wondering, where have I gone. I haven’t gone far. Just needed sometime away from Blogland. Some time to spend with my thoughts and family. Some time to balance the craziness of my day-to-day. I’m yet to be totally balanced. I mean I’m a mom that MUST juggle a dozen hats and tasks, just cause. I do it to myself. But, I’m feeling close to my normal self & looking forward to spreading some Valentine cheer.

My obsession with wreaths continue.  I. Just. Can’t. Help. Myself. Today’s inspiration came from this lovely XO Wreath available at TwoInspireYou’s Etsy shop. I’m so digging the originality and daintiness of the wreath.

{Via}

And this is what my “knock-off”, made with crepe paper looks like.

 

Supplies:

  • Pipe insulation for base
  • White & Pink Crepe paper (streamers)
  • Clear fishing wire
  • Polka Dot Ribbon
  • Glue gun and plenty of glue
  • Scissors

 

I had previously seen on The Crafty Scientist how Mel used pipe insulation as the base of her wreath. The price tag of the insulation appealed to me enough to make a trip to Home Depot.  Just as she bends, shapes and cuts the insulation, I followed suit. You can see how Mel did hers here. Btw- check out her wreath it is way adorable.

 

To craft the X of the wreath. I cut the insulation in half, laid one half on top of the other, as though making an X. I pin pointed the middle and cut a portion out of one half, in order to fit the other half into it. I used the hot glue gun to secure the X into place.

 

Here I have the base ready to get decorated. In fact I painted the X and O, pink and white, respectively, just in case there was some peak-age. And later secured them together by using the fishing wire.

 

 

I then began working on the crepe paper. I cut the pieces just about at arms length, crumbled them and then began rolling them into flowers. I found a good tutorial for making crepe paper roses here.  Once my roses were completed I began hot gluing them onto the pipe insulation in a suitable pattern.  Pretty simple, right? Except for the fact that I had to use my fingers and so, my fingers seem to attract hot glue. OUCHIE OUCH!!

 

Here’s a view of the door a bit further back. All in all I’m very pleased with how my XO wreath came out. And I especially love the price tag of just around $8.

 

Have you been working on any Valentine Day crafts?

Published by Sapphire

Thirtysomething cape-wearing mom of 2 & wife, Latina, Type-A personality, Artisan, Runner, Loyal Friend, Sees Beauty in everything, Ever-Changing!

5 thoughts on “Valentine Wreath {Try that Tuesday}

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve really enjoyed
    browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for
    your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Thank you for your comment. I read and appreciate each one!